Five communities have combined to set up Izerski Klaster Energii Odnawialnej (Izerski Renewable Energy Cluster) on Friday (June 2). This is the third such energy cluster in Lower Silesia. The first two were formed in Lusatian and Trzebnickie over the past few months. All three clusters have committed to building photovoltaic and bio energy power plants in their regions.

• The establishment of the cluster allows access to additional subsidies, including national and EU funding.
• Ultimately, it will allow local municipalities to create “energy islands,” to achieve total energy self-sufficiency for their regions.

The Izerski Renewable Energy Cluster was established by the municipalities of Mirsk, Wleń, Lubomierz, Lwówek Śląski i Stara Kamienica. As a first project stage of the Izerski cluster, a total of 15 MW of renewable energy generation capacity are being planned, of which each installation will generate at least 2 MW of photovoltaic power and 1 MW of bio-power.

– Ultimately, it will allow local governments to create the an ‘energy island,’ to achieve total self-sufficiency and even to produce surplus that can be allocated to the needs of Jelenia Góra or Bolesławiec. – the statement said.

Zofia Świątek of the municipality of Stara Kamienica emphasized that in this municipality the first farms will be built in the coming months. – We have a five hectare plot of land in the land development plan for the construction of a photovoltaic farm. The first installations in this area will be built later this year, and they will include photovoltaics on the roofs of public utility buildings. – she said.

The Mayor of Lubomierz, Wiesław Ziółkowski, reported that a location for the photovoltaic power plant was already designated in this municipality. – We are planning to locate it in a very sunny area on a 12-acre slope in Popielówek, which will make the plant more efficient. The investment will bring additional revenue to the budget. – said Ziółkowski.

Wleń Polski Solar Energetyka Odnawialna, established by the Municipality of Wleń and Polski Solar Holding, will be responsible for preparing a comprehensive development and construction strategy for the Izerski Renewable Energy.

To date, clusters have been set up with 10 other Lower Silesian municipalities. Olszyna, Gryfów Śląski, Leśna, Siekierczyn, Lubań created the cluster of the Lusatian Land and the municipalities of Prusice, Oborniki Śląskie, Wisznia Mała, Wołów and Żmigród have set up the Trzebnickich cluster.

In all 15 municipalities that make up the three clusters, there are approximately 157,000 inhabitants. The three Lower Silesian clusters are the first in Poland.

The rules for the functioning of energy clusters are governed by the amended Law on Renewable Energy Sources. Its aim is to restructure and modernize the Polish power industry, combined with the pursuit of a low carbon economy. It creates conditions for the implementation of local initiatives among associate energy producers, with particular emphasis on the use of renewable sources. Clusters may be formed in the area of one county and connect up to five municipalities. The cluster coordinator should be one of its members.